05. Birthday Goodies, Part 2: Peanut Blossoms

March 15, 2010 at 4:00 PM (Recipe) (, , , , , , )

it's like a little peanut butter cookie army

Admit it, these cookies are freakin' adorable.

Hope everyone had a nice weekend! Welcome to Part 2 of my DELICIOUS COOKIES FOR MY BEST FRIENDS mini-series. (Part 1 is here)

So when I asked Jenn what her favorite cookies were so I could make her a birthday treat, her response caught me a bit off guard. She told me that her favorites were “these peanut butter cookies my mom used to make when I was a kid with a chocolate kiss on the top.”

I was basically like “…”

Seriously, when someone tells you their favorite whatever is something their mom used to make, that’s setting the bar pretty high I think. So after Jenn told me that anything with mint or cinnamon would also make her happy, I contemplated making homemade Thin Mints. Unfortunately, the recipe I had at hand called for a lot of ingredients I didn’t have on hand and some equipment that I really didn’t have the time to go out and look for. So I turned again to The King Arthur Flour Cookie Companion (I am not shilling for them, I swear–it’s just a really awesome cookbook). Flipping through I seemed to recall a picture of some sort of cookie involving chocolate kisses…and there it was. Peanut Blossoms. A peanut butter cookie with a chocolate kiss on top.

I put a lot of general baking notes in the previous post, so I would reference that too if you need to.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 3/4 cup creamy peanut butter (I really like JIF, it’s got a bolder peanut flavor than some other brands, but it could just be me)
  • 1/3 cup sugar (plus a bit more for coating dough)
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar (I used light)
  • 1 egg
  • 2 TBSP milk (I used 2%, some people insist on whole for baked goods. Just don’t use skim)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups (6 1/4 oz) flour
  • 48 or so chocolate kisses (or hugs!)–you’ll want to go ahead and unwrap them before you start baking (just don’t put them too close to the oven) since you’ll be putting them on top of warm cookies and you’ll need to work fairly quickly.

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375°F. Position racks in upper and lower thirds of oven, and line two baking sheets with parchment paper.
  2. In a large bowl, beat butter and peanut butter until well blended. Add sugars and beat until light and fluffy. Add egg, milk, baking soda, salt, and vanilla, and beat well. Gradually mix in flour. The dough will look a bit crumbly, but once you start handling it, it will feel very smooth and rich.i love my metal mixing bowl if you hadn't noticed
  3. Shape dough into 1″ balls (if you can’t visually determine an inch, I would go ahead and get a ruler to measure your first dough ball, then make the other ones look like the first one) and roll in sugar.*  Place on baking sheets (about an inch apart but these won’t spread as much as some other types of cookies. I fit 24 cookies onto one sheet comfortably).
  4. Bake for 10 minutes (rotating baking sheets at the 5 minute mark) until a very light golden brown.

    Not "kissed" yet.

    Remove from oven and immediately place one kiss atop each cookie, gently pressing it in. Transfer cookies to rack to cool completely.**

*When you roll the cookies in the sugar initially they will look pretty thoroughly covered, but after they’ve been sitting on the cookie sheet for a minute or two (while you are making more dough balls) they’ll start to look like you’ve barely coated them at all. That’s supposed to happen. Don’t roll them in more sugar.
**Be careful when you’re moving your cookies, ESPECIALLY if you decided not to use parchment paper. I just lifted up the entire sheet and put it on the rack but when I did try to pick up one cookie with my hand it was very fragile and nearly broke. If you just greased your baking sheets, use a spatula to transfer the cookies.

A final note on these cookies. I was making these to give to Jenn on Saturday night, so I had made them that Friday afternoon. UNFORTUNATELY, I didn’t realize that once the kisses were placed on the very warm cookies, they wouldn’t set up again for quite a while. The only way I had to transport them was in a large Ziploc bag so although they were almost cooled off enough by the time I had to package them because we had to get on the road, they still got a little…not as pretty as when I had first assembled them. So if you’re going to just be eating these yourself, it doesn’t really matter, but if you’re packaging them, make them with plenty of time to cool off so the melty chocolate doesn’t get all over the place.

5 Comments

  1. Beth said,

    Stacie, I wonder if you make enough stuff if you could put out your own cook book–like the answer to Julia Child (minus taking out all the butter) by making it intelligible?

  2. Stacie said,

    well, i usually just use already published recipes with only a few variants so i think if i tried to republish them i would get sued.

    but i am confused by your comment–who’s not intelligible?

  3. Beth said,

    Julia Child’s recipes are notoriously confusing and with many unnecessary steps.

  4. hendyhendel said,

    I love how when I scroll through these high-res pictures, there are giant cookies just staring at me. Mocking me?

  5. Leigh said,

    I love JIF too. Also these cookies. 🙂

Leave a Reply

