Nachos. And, A Cloud Of Dust

May 26, 2011 at 10:11 PM (Recipe) (, , )

…is what would have occured if this were a diary I just unearthed, since it’s been that long since I’ve written or even logged on.

MANY THINGS HAVE HAPPENED. MANY THINGS. I don’t remember what I wrote in my last post though (something about updating more often? oops) so I don’t know where to start.

On the personal front, here’s the scoop: registered for fall classes not too long ago–NOT cooking related, because as much as I enjoy cooking and baking and recipes and being in the kitchen, doing it at top speed for someone else just isn’t for me. Way too high stress, not enough return. I’ll stick to creating delicious food for myself and my friends and family.

Also working a job (that I don’t really like) BUT going away for two weeks to TURKEY (courtesy of and with my unfailingly generous mother). I look forward to taking a ton of pictures of everything, including the food, and writing about it (but don’t hold your breath) when I get back.

Now for the real subject of this post: NACHOS.

Hell yeah I make good nachos.

In all of their glory.

See what happened was, I had some avocados lying around, and I didn’t want to make tacos, so I figured I’d make nachos with guacamole.  Normally restaurant nachos are a pile of fake cheese and despair but I had some decent nachos at Lab recently (during their weekly Mariachi Monday, which I recommend to all) and felt inspired. Note that these are not extraordinary nachos by any means, they’re just what tastes really good to me, so sorry if you were looking for some kind of out-of-this-world-super-inventive-should-probably-be-patented recipe.

Naturally by the time I got all the nacho fixings and had a night at home to cook when there would be someone else at home to eat, the avocados had gone bad. Single tear. I couldn’t let all the other nacho stuff go to waste though so I went out and bought fresh avocados, which ended up being  PERFECT.

So here we go: Nachos a la a faux-Communist Russian.

Ingredients:

  • Tortilla chips–I used Tostitos Scoops because that’s our preferred chip for snacking and when you have something as messy as nachos with a lot of topping layers, they hold up to the abuse pretty well.
  • 1 15.oz can black beans
  • judicious amount of shredded cheese–depends on if you really love cheese or not. I used taco cheese.
  • some good fresh salsa–either homemade or the kind you get in the produce section of the grocery store.
  • guacamole–I have a signature guacamole recipe that I always, always use, which I will post here, but feel free to use your own favorite.
  • sour cream
  • more cheese to sprinkle on top ’cause it makes it look pretty. maybe stick a sprig of cilantro up there too if you’re super into presentation.

Directions:

  • Preheat the broiler and line a sheet pan or whatever with parchment paper (I was making a lot of nachos and I hate washing my sheet pans, so you know.  Anything you can put under the broiler will work.
  • Drain and rinse the can of beans, and pat somewhat dry so you don’t get water all over your chips.
  • Spread a reasonable amount of chips on the baking sheet. By “spread,” I really mean “mound”,  just not so high that your bottom layer gets no toppings. You don’t want any of the nachos to feel left out. No hurt feelings in this kitchen, is all I’m sayin’.
  • Kind of…sprinkle? Arrange? the black beans over the chips. You know, evenly.
  • Top with as much cheese as you can handle. Probably even more than that, to account for melting. You won’t regret it, unless you’re severely lactose intolerant.
  • Stick the nachos in the oven (not too close to the broiler, mind you, you want to melt the cheese, not set it on fire) for a few minutes–I honestly didn’t time it because I crack my oven door open when I broil so as soon as the cheese was super gooey, I took them out. Definitely keep a close eye on your nachos because this step doesn’t take long at all and you can go from melted goodness to setting off your smoke detector pretty quickly.
  • When the nachos look ready, pull them out.  Top with salsa, guacamole, sour cream, and some more cheese if you’re so inclined (I was). Take care to not pile everything on in the middle but try to distribute somewhat evenly across the chips–you’re going for even coverage.
  • Sit down, possibly with a fork for when things start getting really messy, and eat the hell out of some nachos. We ate them right off the sheet that I put on a cooling rack so we didn’t burn our coffee table while we watched some fatalistic documentary about the collapse of civilization as we know it.

Okay, now for the guacamole recipe, which is what I really wanted to eat, but nachos are more filling (and probably nutritious) than just eating guacamole out of the bowl with a spoon.

Ingredients:

  • 2 ripe avocados
  • 1/4 red onion, minced (you might use a little bit less if your onion is particularly large)
  • 1/4 tomato, diced (again, the exact amount will vary depending on the size of your tomato. If it’s very small, you could use up to 1/2)
  • 4 to 5 cloves of garlic, minced or pressed (I put garlic in things like I’m warding off vampires though, so better change that to “to taste”)
  • cilantro, minced, unless you hate cilantro, in which case none.
  • one lime
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  • Coarsely mash the avocados with a fork. If you’ve accidentally bought avocados that are too firm to mash, cut them up really small and make “chunky avocado salsa” instead. I have had to do this on multiple occasions.
  • Mix in onion, tomato, garlic, and onion (and the cilantro if you’re using it)
  • Juice the lime over the guacamole-in-progress. I use a fork and just squeeze the lime around it, no need for a reamer or accidentally squirting lime juice in your eye. I have done that on multiple occasions too, and it’s not pleasant.
  • Season with salt and pepper to taste, and serve. The lime juice will help preserve the color for a while, but this is really best eaten close to when it’s prepared.

There you have it, readers that have long forgotten my blog because I never update, ever ever ever. Please come back. I’ll try harder this time, really. Please?

2 Comments

  1. Anna-Grace said,

    Awesome! I’ve been craving nachos off and on for a few weeks now, and you’re right, good restaurant nachos are very rare, so I’ve been thinking about making my own. Maybe I’ll try this recipe. Your guacamole recipe is pretty much the exact same as mine! So good!!! Everytime I’ve made it this way I’ve had countless people practically inhaling it and saying over and over, “This is the best guacamole ever!”. So yeah. Good job! Funny post, too, which makes it so much more enjoyable to read about food. =)

  2. Stacie said,

    Thanks Anna-Grace! Yeah that guacamole recipe is foolproof, everyone thinks you’re a genius if you make it that way. =)

Leave a Reply

